Thursday, January 8, 2009

OC Transpo strike

"Have you ever worked a union shop?

Try it sometime. Go work for PSAC or the CUPW or the Steelworkers...then when they go on strike, cross the picket line.

Then when the strike is over - go back to work. I dare you.

When you are part of a union - particularly a closely knit and/or militant union, you do NOT cross the line if you carry a card. Period. You just don't. Because if you do, you'll be sorry. Believe me."

OC Transpo: Possible City Courses of Action

It's comments like this that make me mad. Here we have a person who is so against the strike that he would be willing to make somebody elses life a living hell because they crossed the picket line for their own reasons. That could be anything from financial difficulties to feeling that the offer is fair to just wanting to be done with all of this madness. Meanwhile we have the union leader, Andre Cornelier, reminding the city of the shooting in 1999 and the conditions that lead up to this. As I recall it was behavior like this that made Pierre Lebrun go on a rampage. Mind you this could not have been the only reason but it was one of the possible reasons given in the inquest. Maybe Cornelier should remind his members that this type of behavior is very hurtful and can cause very grave circumstances.

I really hope something like that never happens again and my heart goes out to all the employees of OC Transpo who experienced this and especially to the families of the employees who died. Just please, think before you do something. The way you react can be very hurtful (I have recently learned this as well.)

Nauner


P.S. I would have commented this directly on the post but I could only do it with a livejournal login and I don't have one, but if the author reads this please feel free to comment. I allow all people to comment on my blog.

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Lily Allen

I just read on MSN.ca that Lily Allen supports the death penalty for anybody who buys a Paris Hilton album and wants to release Katy Perry's phone number on Facebook if she says anything more about her. Now I've never bought a Paris Hilton album and I'm not a fan, but really everybody has the right to their own taste in music and she should not ever say anything as stupid as that because I'm sure there are a lot of people out there who would be more than willing to support the death penalty for her (there are, I joined a couple groups on Facebook called "Death to Lily Allen Society" and "Lily Allen should be shot.")

The idea of releasing Katy Perry's phone number is very insulting to me, releasing anybodies personal information is a complete and utter disregard for a person and shows that you have absolutely no integrity. People say stuff about you, get over it. I've had people talk about me before, both behind my back and to my face and guess what. I never released personal information about them, I never did anything. Learn to be a better person, either from what they said or by just not retaliating.

Anyways, Katy Perry is thinner than you. I'll go a step further than what she said though. She's also more talented and much prettier than you. Fuck you, you whore. Try releasing my personal info.